Ryerson University

Ryerson University
Ryerson University
350 Victoria Street
Toronto, ON M5B 2K3

Ryerson University is located in downtown Toronto and its urban campus surrounds Yonge and Dundas Square, with the majority of its buildings in the blocks northeast of the square in Toronto’s Garden District. The university was established in 1948 and is named after educator Egerton Ryerson.

The university offers many specialized programs which are unique in Canada across its 5 faculties, including the largest undergraduate business program in Canada by enrolment, which includes approximately 700 full time faculty members, 21 000 undergraduate and 700 Ryerson graduate students.  

In addition to offering full-time and part-time undergraduate and graduate programs leading to Bachelor’s, Master’s and Doctoral degrees, the university also offers part time degrees, distance education and certificates through its The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education, which has annual enrollment of over 65,400 students.

Ryerson University Faculties

Ryerson is divided into a number of faculties. The major faculties at Ryerson University are;

Faculty of Arts

The Faculty of Arts comprises 10 humanities and social science departments and plays a unique dual role in the University. The Faculty offers:

  1. Undergraduate programs that combine a liberal arts education with Ryerson’s brand of relevant, practical learning;
  2. Graduate programs, at both the master’s and doctoral levels, that have a strong component of scholarship, research, innovation and critical analysis;
  3. High quality arts-based education through liberal studies courses – that cut across all of Ryerson’s degree program curricula, from Journalism to Engineering to Business. Liberal Studies challenge students’ intellect and imagination, nurturing their ability to think critically and adapt to the accelerating pace of change in today’s world.

Faculty of Communication & Design

The Faculty of Communication & Design offers undergraduate degrees of major study as well as one department that provides a unique area of minor study. The faculty is composed of 7 schools. Degrees and studies that are available are:

  1. School of Fashion
  2. School of Graphic Communications Management
  3. School of Image Arts
  4. School of Interior Design
  5. School of Journalism
  6. School of Radio and Television Arts
  7. Theatre School
  8. Department of Professional Communications

Additional graduate programs of study are available in Documentary Media, Journalism, Media Production, and Photographic Preservation and Collections Management. The Faculty also houses the Rogers Communications Centre which provides an innovative and technical environment to study and research different aspects of media and society.

Faculty of Community Services

Kerr Hall Ryerson?s Faculty of Community Services offers diverse programs which focus on making a positive impact in the community. The rich curriculum of multi-disciplinary programs in health, early childhood education, social justice and community development is closely connected to the spirit and the dynamism of the community.

Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Science

The Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Science (FEAS) is one of the largest faculties of its kind in Canada with more than 4,400 undergraduate students enrolled in 15 undergraduate programs, and over 800 students in 13 graduate programs.

The FEAS grants Bachelor of Architectural Science, Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Engineering degrees in 17 programs.

Students can choose to specialize in the following disciplines: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Medical Physics, Applied Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Architecture, Project Management and Building Science.

Ted Rogers School of Management

Located on Bay Street, in the heart of Toronto’s business community, the Ted Rogers School of Management at Ryerson University is Canada’s largest undergraduate management school.

The school’s undergraduate Bachelor of Commerce (BComm) programs are grouped into: Business Management, Information Technology Management, Hospitality and Tourism Management, and Retail Management. Graduate studies are also offered and consist of: MBA with a global focus, MBA in the Management of Technology and Innovation, and Master of Management Science (MMSc) in the Management of Technology and Innovation.

School of Graduate Studies

Ryerson University has over 30 graduate studies programs. These programs can be viewed from Ryerson?s graduate studies section of their website, http://www.ryerson.ca/graduate/.  

The G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education

The Chang school is responsible for continuing education within Ryerson University and is the largest continuing education program in Canada.

Directions and Map to Ryerson University

Ryerson University is located in the heart of downtown Toronto. The major intersection closest to Ryerson is Dundas and Yonge, and the nearest subway station is Dundas station.

By Car

Ryerson is bounded by four major city streets: Gerrard (north), Dundas (south), Jarvis (east), and Yonge (west).  Main traffic routes are as follows:

Highway 401: east or west to Yonge Street, south on Yonge, turn left (east) at Gerrard or Gould (no turns are permitted at Yonge and Dundas).

Don Valley Parkway: south to Bloor Street, turn right (west) at Bloor, turn left (south) at Church, continue until Gerrard, Gould or Dundas.

Gardiner Expressway:  east or west to Yonge Street, continue north until Gould or Gerrard. City street maps show alternate routes.

By Public Tranist (TTC)

The Ryerson campus has convenient access to numerous TTC routes. These include:

Yonge / Dundas subway station: Walk one block north on Yonge from the Eaton Centre to Gould Street, turn right at Sam the Record Man, walk one block east to Victoria Street.

Yonge / College subway station: Walk one block south from College Park on Yonge Street, turn left at Gerrard Street, walk one block east to Victoria Street.

For further TTC information, visit ttc.ca or telephone (416) 393-4636

By Bicycle

Bike lanes exist on College, Gerrard, Shuter, St. George, and Sherbourne Streets.

Map of Ryerson University Location

Video of Ryerson University

Contact Ryerson University

Email: Fill out the Ryerson Contact Form
Main Phone:  416.979.5000
Student Financial Assistance
General: 416.979.5115
OSAP: 416.979.5113

On-campus: 416.979.5284
Off-campus: 416.979.5043

Office of Undergraduate Admissions/Liaison: 416.979.5036
School of Graduate Studies: 416.979.5365
G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education: 416.979.5035
Access Centre: 416.979.5290 Fax: 416.979.5094
Theatre: 416.979.5009
Conference Services: 416.979.5296
Student Fees: 416.979.5015

Related posts:

  1. University of Toronto The University of Toronto is the largest University in Canada...
  2. York University York University is the third largest University in Canada. Established...
  3. Seneca College Seneca College educates more than 100,000 students, making it the...
  4. Humber College Humber College provides broad range of career-focused credentials which includes...
  5. George Brown College George Brown College is a fully-accredited college of applied arts...

Filed Under: EducationUniversities

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.